curved lines

LSNJ LAW has just been redesigned to better answer your legal questions, help you with your legal problems, or just teach you more about the law.
Please visit our new Web site at http://www.lsnjlaw.org.

LSNJLAW: You and the Law in New Jersey
LSNJ
  Read ThisOnline IntakeGet More HelpAbout LSNJEspanolSite Map
 
governmentaid

Government Aid and Services

Home Help      
Home Page > Government Aid and Services > Child Care

Kinship Navigator Program

 

Under the Kinship Navigator Program, if you are caring for a relative’s child or children, you may be eligible for assistance, including financial support and Medicaid health insurance. You must be a relative to the child by blood, marriage, or legal guardianship, and the child must be living with you. However, you need not have custody of the child in order to receive assistance. You will be required to pay a co-payment that will vary depending upon your family size and income.

In order to qualify for assistance as a kinship caregiver, you must be able to provide documentation proving your age and your relationship with the child, and proof that the child lives with you. You must also meet the following income eligibility requirements, which vary according to your age:

Under age 60 and employed or disabled:

Family Size
Maximum Annual Income
350% of Federal Poverty Level
1
$31,010
2
$41,790
3
$52,570
4
$63,350
5
$74,130
6
$84,910
7
$95,690
8
$106,470

Over age 60:

Family Size
Maximum Annual Income
500% of Federal Poverty Level
1
$44,300
2
$59,700
3
$75,100
4
$90,500
5
$105,900
6
$121,300
7
$136,700
8
$152,100

If you are providing care for a relative’s child or children and believe you may be eligible for kinship care services, you should contact your county UCCA (see link below) or the Kinship Navigator Program Information Hotline at the toll-free number, 1-877-816-3211.

Links

 

Top of page Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Glossary

Low-income New Jerseyans can get free legal help by phone: call our toll-free hotline at 1-888-LSNJ-LAW (1-888-576-5529), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Outside of New Jersey, please call 732-572-9100 and ask to be transferred to the hotline.